De Vere Beaumont Estate, Berkshire
De Vere Beaumont Estate is a picturesque hotel wedding venue set in the world-famous royal borough of Windsor. Once home to various families of the British aristocracy, there is an air of enchantment that grips you from the moment you arrive.
This 44-acre estate of stunning grounds which includes natural ponds, manicured gardens and quirky sculptures; is free for guests and visitors to explore – there's even Hunter wellies available to borrow from reception! Walk down the drive, and this sense of regal company strikes when casting eyes on the English Palladian architecture of the White House building standing tall above the surrounding countryside.
Step inside the original Georgian manor house and instantly it's a home away from home with the open fireplace and curving staircase which leads up to its suites. Its interiors throughout are a masterclass in understated luxury, with a distinctly British aesthetic. Originally the boy's school dining room – the house was a public school from 1854 to 1967 – the Beaumont Room is a bright and welcoming space for 150 guests with large windows reaching to the ceiling and direct access to the gardens.Post-vows, walking into the stunning Chapel for the first time is always a special moment. Built in 1870, the Chapel features an ornate ceiling painted by celebrated architect Romaine Walker. Meanwhile the beautiful stained-glass rose window adds an explosion of colour and light, creating an enchanting setting for a wedding breakfast for up to 160 guests or an evening reception for up to 180 guests.
When tying the knot here couples benefit from a complimentary menu tasting pre-wedding, and a dinner, bed and breakfast stay on their first wedding anniversary; the services of a dedicated wedding planner and special bed and breakfast rates are available for big-day guests – of whom you can enjoy a private breakfast with the next day.
Contact: 01753 640 561 | www.devere.co.uk/beaumont-estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate, Burfield Rd, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2JJ
For history buffs... The original house was built for Lord Weymouth as 'Bowmans Lodge' in 91 acres of land. The property was then purchased by Henry Griffiths and it was rebuild it in 1790 as a nine-bay mansion with an enormous portico with columns in beech tree style. The estate was bought by the Society of Jesus in 1854 for novices and became their Roman Catholic college in 1861. Ranges were added between 1865 and 1870 and the chapel dedicated to St. Stanislaus was built in 1870. The school subsequently closed down in 1966.
Standout features include...
- Chapel Stained Rose Window - The Rose window was destroyed when a V1 rocket landed on the Bells of Ousley public house between the College and the River in 1944 which brought down most of the glass in the school buildings; it was replaced at the end of the war.
- Original confessional booths now converted into alcoves.
- Restored altar
- Memorial to First & Second World War - It is considered to be one of the most beautiful in the country and consists of an arch of Portland stone containing the life size bronze cross of Christ crucified with the names of those listed on panels below, this mounted above an altar, itself the symbol of sacrifice. The setting is within the peaceful park landscape of the College grounds. It is the collaborative work of both Giles and Adrian Gilbert Scott and was unveiled in 1921 by General Sir George MacDonogh OB in the presence of Cardinal Bourne Archbishop of Westminster. Of almost 600 OBs eligible to serve, 132 gave their lives. These include a father and son, 7 sets of brothers, and numerous cousins. There were six Frenchmen and two from the United States including Harry Butters the first American to join the British army to fight in the conflict; his sword was made into a crucifix for the Lady Chapel.On the Second War panel added in 1948 are a further ninety names, the majority air force fighter pilots and bomber crews. There are five Americans listed and three who served with SOE and the French Resistance.
- The swimming pool at the Beaumont Estate was the first heated indoor swimming pool to be built in England.
- Beaumont Estate was once a school where Coco Chanel's nephew was a pupil. It's said that the school blazer was the inspiration for the 1924 Chanel Suit.
- The first motorist in England was the Hon Evelyn Ellis, who in 1885 drove a car from his home to BeaumontThe Chapel is said to be inspiration for the chapel in English writer Evelyn Waugh's 'Brideshead Revisited.'
- The current window is a replacement as the original was destroyed by a doodlebug which landed on the school during the 2nd World War.